I want to tell the world

By Nahida

This is a Blog post I saw and read on the Palestinian Mother’s forum. I found it so powerful and so important that I wanted to spread this message further on, and I told Nahida that we need to tell the world – together! And I asked her if I could re-post it here, to which she agreed…

_______________

I want to tell the world

********************************

I want to tell the world


A story

About a home With a broken lantern

And a burnt doll

About a picnic That wasn’t enjoyed

About an axe That killed a tulip

A story about a fire That consumed a plait

I want to tell a story About a goat That wasn’t milked

About a mother’s dough That wasn’t baked

About a wedding That wasn’t celebrated

And a girl That didn’t grow up

About a football That wasn’t kicked

About a dove That didn’t fly

I want to tell a story About a key That wasn’t used

About a classroom That wasn’t attended

About a playground That was silenced

About a book That wasn’t read

About a besieged lonely farm

And about its fruits That weren’t picked

A story about a church That’s no longer prayed in

And a mosque That no longer stands

And a culture No longer rejoiced

I want to tell a story About a muddy grassy roof

About a stone That faced a tank

About a stubborn flag That refuses to lie down

I want to tell the world A story

Now Light a little candle for Palestine

You can do it

Light a candle One little candle
Watch the darkness fade away
Just try it out

One ray of light
Wipes away the gloomiest
Jet-black nights
As the dawn breaks

Just observe

Can you see that
All the might of darkness
In the world
Cannot extinguish
The faintest flicker
Of a beam of light

Light a candle
One little candle
Watch the darkness fade away

You can do it

Hey.. WORLD
Did you hear me?

2 responses to “I want to tell the world

  1. Wow! This broke my heart. The next question, I guess is, so what am I going to do about it? A couple weeks ago a group of my friends gathered together and just prayed for Palestine, for the persecuted church, for the people, and for the oppressors. Since that time Palestine has come up several times in conversations. Obviously the awareness has been brought, the next thing to do is act!

    • thepilotwoman

      Yes, Khrystyne!
      The next thing to do is to act. It doesn’t matter how “big” your action is, what’s important is to do something.. – But even what you did just now: “raising awareness” is a big thing! It’s an “act” as well, an important one with that! And anything you’ll do, even if you think that it might be only a drop in the ocean – somehow, somewhere your action will have an impact!

Leave a Reply

